prayer requests

If you would like to, you can email your prayer requests on the link below.

Prayer Request


Presbyterian Church (USA)

Presbytery of Ohio Valley

follow us

Click the logo to follow us on Facebook!

MSPC on Facebook

contact info.

PO Box 193
910 Main Street
Petersburg, IN 47567
(812) 354-6844
Email Us

about us

Our Mission

Main Street Presbyterian Church is a local gathering of the Body of Christ organized under the democratic principles of the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.). We support and care deeply for each other as members of the family of God. Our new Mission Statement is the following:

"We are a family of God empowered by the Holy Spirit to embody the love of Jesus Christ through lives of service in the world."


Main Street Presbyterian Church was founded in 1821 as part of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church. The congregation met in the homes of its members until 1835, when the newly constructed courthouse was used for worship. This served until 1842 when a brick church-home was provided on the corner of Walnut and Seventh Streets. The present building was first dedicated in 1886. In September 1905 the Old School Presbyterian and the Cumberland Presbyterian churches of Petersburg voted to unite. The actual union took place in November of 1906, and the present building became the home of the united churches, named Main Street Presbyterian Church.

Our congregation is comprised of 139 adherents, of whom 97 are active members, 21 are baptized members, and 21 are inactive members. Our average worship attendance is 47 persons per week. (Statistics as of February 5, 2005)

We belong to the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.), a denomination which includes 11,216 churches and 2,560,201 members. Our local governing body is our Session, made up of our pastor and eight elders, all elected by our congregation. We belong to the Presbytery of Ohio Valley, our regional governing body. We are in the Synod of Lincoln Trails, one of 16 geographical areas of the United States. Our national governing body is the General Assembly, with headquarters in Louisville, Kentucky.